Press "Enter" to skip to content

Covid19: Currituck County Amends State of Emergency

Currituck County amended its State of Emergency to increase restrictions regarding access to the Currituck County section of the Outer Banks. Effective at 10:00 p.m. tonight, March 20, 2020, access to the Currituck Outer Banks is denied to visitors AND non-resident property owners.

At this time, there is no evacuation order for any visitors or non-resident property owners who may already be present in the Currituck Outer Banks. The restrictions fall upon any attempting to gain access as of 10:00 p.m. tonight.

Permanent residents of Currituck County will be able to enter Dare County to conduct business, work, and attend medical appointments. To gain access, Currituck County residents must have an ID that shows a Currituck County address.

The law enforcement checkpoint will continue to operate at the Wright Memorial Bridge, on the Dare County side. There will be no restrictions on motorists coming from Dare County north into Currituck County.

Any additional updates to the State of Emergency will be announced as information is available.

%d bloggers like this: